Winter is coming in a new collection of stamps honouring Britain's contribution to Game of Thrones.

The Royal Mail has unveiled a set of 15 first-class stamps featuring characters from the fantasy TV show, which will go on sale later this month.

The HBO series, based on the books by George RR Martin, is filmed principally in Northern Ireland and has a mainly British and Irish cast.

The stamps include "Mother of Dragons" Daenerys Targaryen, played by Emilia Clarke, Jon Snow (Kit Harington), Arya Stark (Maisie Williams) and Cersei Lannister (Lena Headey).

Image:Jon Snow, played by Kit Harington
Game of Thrones stamps Arya
Image:Maisie Williams as Arya Stark
Game of Thrones stamps Cersei
Image:Cersei Lannister, portrayed by Lena Headey

Other characters to feature are Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner), Tywin Lannister (Charles Dance), Eddard Stark (Sean Bean), Olenna Tyrell (Dame Diana Rigg), Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage), and Jaime Lannister (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau).

Five stamps include images of the Night King and the White Walkers, giants, direwolves and dragons, and the Iron Throne.

Game of Thrones stamps collage
Image:The collection of stamps go on sale from 23 January

The collection's release comes ahead of the eighth and final series of Game of Thrones, which is currently in production.

More from Game Of Thrones

Most of the filming on the previous seven series has taken place at Titanic Studios in Belfast, Linen Mill Studios in Banbridge and on location across Northern Ireland, while some scenes were shot in Scotland.

Fans can pre-order the stamps now from the Royal Mail website and buy them from 23 January at Post Office branches across the UK or by calling Royal Mail's customer service line.

Original Article

[contf] [contfnew]

Sky News

[contfnewc] [contfnewc]