Janet Jackson, Stevie Nicks, The Cure, Def Leppard and Radiohead are among the acts announced as the latest members of The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame.

The artists will be officially inducted next year alongside Roxy Music and The Zombies as the official class of 2019.

It means Jackson joins brother Michael among the alumni, while Stevie Nicks enters for the second time as a solo artist, having previously been inducted as a member of Fleetwood Mac.

Artists are eligible for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first album or single.

For Jackson, it was third time lucky after being in the running twice before, while Nicks, Def Leppard and Roxy Music were all voted in as first-time nominees.

The seven new members were chosen from a shortlist of 15, with acts including Rage Against The Machine, Kraftwerk and LL Cool J missing out.

The acts are chosen in a weighted vote, based on a ballot of experts and a fan poll.

The Zombies are @rockhall inductees!

“This time to turn the corner and get inducted, feels fantastic … Im just so delighted.” – Rod

"This is a career-defining [and] life-defining moment." – Colin

— The Zombies (@TheZombiesMusic) December 13, 2018

Def Leppard, who topped the fan vote, said on their website: "We belong: 2019 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees!

"Thank you to all of our fans for making us #1 in the fan vote and to the voting members of the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame committee."

Jackson tweeted: "We did it u guys. Thank U for all your love and support. #RockHall2019."

Next year's class join Bon Jovi, Dire Straits, Nina Simone, The Moody Blues and The Cars, who were inducted earlier this year.

More than 200 artists have been added over the years, with everyone from ABBA, AC/DC and Aerosmith to Yes and ZZ Top featuring.

Next year's ceremony to honour the new members will be held in Brooklyn on 29 March.

Original Article

[contf] [contfnew]

Sky News

[contfnewc] [contfnewc]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here