Guns N' Roses have removed a song with homophobic and racist lyrics from a remastered version of their blockbuster debut album.

The band is releasing an expanded version of 1987's Appetite for Destruction which includes unreleased tracks and demos.

However, a track list on their website shows that One In A Million will not be included alongside hits like Welcome To The Jungle and Sweet Child O' Mine.

The song caused controversy for including the word n****** and the lines: "Immigrants and faggots/They make no sense to me/They come to our country /And think they'll do as they please."

In a 1989 Rolling Stone interview lead singer Axl Rose said: "I used words like police and n****** because you're not allowed to use the word "n*****".

Image:Appetite For Destruction

"Why can black people go up to each other and say, "N*****," but when a white guy does it all of a sudden it's a big put-down. I don't like boundaries of any kind. I don't like being told what I can and what I can't say."

In his final public comments about One In A Million in 1992, Rose stated: "It was a way for me to express my anger at how vulnerable I felt in certain situations that had gone down in my life."

The band has not commented on the omission.

These are the tracks on the remastered version:

More from Entertainment

  1. Welcome To The Jungle
  2. It's So Easy
  3. Nightrain
  4. Out Ta Get Me
  5. Mr. Brownstone
  6. Paradise City
  7. My Michelle
  8. Think About You
  9. Sweet Child O' Mine
  10. You're Crazy
  11. Anything Goes
  12. Rocket Queen

The new edition of Appetite for Destruction, which remains the top-selling debut album of all time, comes as the once notoriously turbulent band cashes in on a reunion tour with Rose, guitarist Slash and bassist Duff McKagan which is entering its third year.

It will go on sale on 29 June and features two unfinished songs, The Plague and New Work Tune, and covers of songs including Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel.

Original Article

[contf] [contfnew]

Sky News

[contfnewc] [contfnewc]