SHARE

author image

Tyler Blevins aka Ninja is taking over Times Square in New York (Picture: Ben Strauss/The Washington Post via Getty Images)

Tyler Ninja Blevins is bringing his triumphant 2018 to an end with a huge New Years Eve livestream from Times Square in New York.

Announced back in October at TwitchCon, Ninja will livestream Fortnite as New York routinely conducts its ball drop to mark the New Year when the clock strikes midnight.

So what can we expect from the Fortnite extravaganza? Heres everything you need to know.

Where can I watch Ninjas livestream?

The usual place, of course. You can catch Ninjas New Years Eve celebrations on his Twitch channel which is embedded below.

Advertisement

Advertisement

What time does the stream kick off?

The 12 hour livestream will start at 1pm PT and 4pm ET for US territories, while it will be 9pm GMT for the UK.

The stream will wrap at 1am PT, 4am ET and 9am GMT respectively on 1 January.

Will there be anything else aside from Fortnite?

Fortnite is perhaps the biggest success story of 2018 (Epic Games)

Ninja will be streaming very close to the New York ball drop, with his PC setup overseeing the Times Square celebrations below.

Along with Fortnite, the stream will feature live giveaways along with some promised special guests yet to be announced.

Considering Tylers 2018 has seen him mingle with Drake, Ellen DeGeneres and Jimmy Fallon – its likely therell be high profile guests showing off their skills.

Ninja recently appeared on Jimmy Fallon (Picture: Andrew Lipovsky/NBC/NBCU Photobank)

Speaking about the livestream, Ninja said: When I started in gaming, I never thought that something like this would be possible.

NYE has always been fun for gamers because its a night where you have a widely acceptd excuse to stay up and game, but theres never been an event in the mainstream thats actually built around that tradition.

This is just my ultimate NYE Fortnite LAN party with some of my best friends and a few surprises that I hope we as a community can have a lot of fun with.

More: Gaming

Advertisement

Advertisement

Twitch recently announced Ninja, unsurprisingly, was the most-watched streamer on the platform in 2018, earning 227.43 million hours watched between 1 January and 28 December 2018.

Its even more impressive considering the gap for second place, achieved by Riot Games, who earned 99.31 million hours watched.

You can check out the top ten below:

Top 10 Twitch streamers of 2018

  1. Ninja – 226.85 million hours watched
  2. Riotgames – 99.31m
  3. Shroud – 97.07m
  4. Overwatch League – 74.60m
  5. Sodapopin – 51.95m
  6. Dakotaz – 50.00m
  7. Lirik – 44.71m
  8. Tfue – 43.53m
  9. Eleaguetv – 42.81m
  10. Loltyler1 – 41.47m

MORE: My most played games of 2018 – Readers Feature

MORE: Metro GameCentral video game review of 2018 – the year that was

Advertisement

Advertisement

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here