“When you mute an account, you can still see posts on their profile page and get notified about comments or posts you're tagged in”
The picture-sharing service has confirmed the new feature will be gradually rolled out over the "next few weeks".
Once live, the feature will allow users to mute either just the posts or both posts and Instagram Stories from any account they follow, without notifying the account in question of any change.
"When you mute an account, you can still see posts on their profile page and get notified about comments or posts you're tagged in," the company said in a blog post on the new feature.
The accounts you mute will not be aware that you've muted them. You can always unmute an account to get their posts back in your feed.
INSTAGRAM is to introduce a mute button
"We're aiming to make feed the best place to share and connect with the people and interests you care about.
Mute will be rolled out over the next few weeks. To learn more, visit our Help Centre."
Users will be able to mute an account by tapping the three dots icon next to an account handle and then selecting the "Mute Posts" option that appears.
The company said it is testing the feature among a small sample of Apple iOS users, but would launch it to its wider audience in the near future.
The Facebook-owned social network platform has more than 800 million monthly active users worldwide.